1961

The Beauvais A trial run for the maritime transport of LNG

The Beauvais pioneers the transport of liquefied natural gas, opening the way to an entire dynasty of LNG carriers in France.

July 1959: France acquires its first experimental ship, the Beauvais, through the state gas company Gaz de France. A former Liberty ship used by the United States in World War II, the vessel enjoys a second life thanks to this mission. In 1961, the ship is disarmed in Dunkirk, then repaired and refitted at Penhoët, the former Saint-Nazaire shipyard. Operated by the Compagnie Nantaise des Chargeurs de l’Ouest on behalf of Méthane Transport, the ship begins its new role in 1962.

May 15, 1962: The experimental ship sets out to sea with a full cargo of LNG in its storage tanks. The goal: to test laboratory theories under real-life conditions and compare the different solutions implemented on board. All storage tanks, insulation layers, anchoring systems and accessories (pumps, pipelines, sluice gates, safety mechanisms) are scrupulously monitored. On July 2, the Beauvais delivers its cargo at the Roche-Maurice testing station in Nantes by means of articulated offloading arms after traveling up the Loire River.

The Beauvais enables shipyards to test equipment under real-life conditions before proceeding with the construction of France’s first LNG carrier.

1964

The Jules Verne France’s first LNG carrier

The Jules Verne, the ship that started it all is now celebrating its 50th anniversary!

June 27, 1962: The company Gaz Marine orders the first French LNG carrier—the  future Jules Verne—from the Ateliers et Chantiers de la Seine-Maritime shipyard, located in Le Trait.

March 28, 1965: the Jules Verne delivers its first LNG cargo to the Le Havre terminal! This date marks the beginning of France’s industrial history in LNG. The Jules Verne LNG carrier begins a series of global trips of 3,400 km each. It can perform 33 trips per year between Algeria and Le Havre, and has a 25,840-m3 storage capacity, roughly equivalent to 10 Olympic-size swimming pools.

After several LNG carriers are grounded in 1979 and 1980, Gaz de France decides to develop a technique for the transshipment of cargo. The technique’s goal is to optimize the flow of traffic, transport safety and use of the LNG carrier fleet. From September 11 to 14, 1982, an LNG cargo of 22,000 m3 is transshipped for the first time between two LNG carriers, the Edouard L.D. and the Jules Verne, at Fos-sur-Mer.

Exiting the GDF SUEZ fleet in 1988, the Jules Verne is sold to the Dutch company Dalmeyer. It later returns to the Mediterranean with the Spanish company Gaz Natural and is disassembled in 2008 after 43 years of good and loyal service.

Télécharger la brochure d'époque (PDF, 2.5 Mo)

1971

The Descartes 50,000 m3 of LNG capacity

As the maritime transport of LNG takes off, the Descartes takes the industry to the next level with its expanded capacity.

1971 sees the launch of two LNG carriers: the Descartes and Hassi R’Mel.

Both ships are noteworthy for their significantly greater transport capacity: 50,000 m3 and 40,000 m3 respectively. Worldwide, there are now nine large LNG carriers with a combined 380,000-m3 capacity and two small LNG carriers with a combined 9,120-m3 capacity.

The Descartes becomes the first LNG carrier with a full cargo to cross the Suez Canal in 1977.

Messigaz, a subsidiary of Gaz de France (40%) and the Compagnie Générale Maritime (60%), acquires the Descartes in 1991 in co-ownership with Gazocéan. GDF SUEZ continues to charter the ship for another 10 years.

1977

The Édouard L.D. Connecting Britain and Algeria

The Édouard L.D. serves as a mainstay of the early LNG routes between France and Algeria before taking part in the first successful transshipment operation.

Completed in 1977, the Édouard L.D. LNG carrier offers a 125,000-m3 capacity. Owned by the weapons manufacturer Louis Dreyfus, GDF SUEZ acquires the ship’s charter from Sagape (Société d’Achat du Gaz Algérien Pour l’Europe). Built at the Chantiers de France-Dunkerque shipyard, the LNG carrier features the Gaz Transport technique of storage tanks insulated with an Invar membrane. Developed to travel between Arzew and the future Montoir-de-Bretagne LNG terminal, the ship remains on standby until the terminal is commissioned in 1980.

After several LNG carriers are grounded in 1979 and 1980, Gaz de France decides to develop a technique for the transshipment of cargo. The technique’s goal is to optimize the flow of traffic, transport safety and use of the LNG carrier fleet. From September 11 to 14, 1982, an LNG cargo of 22,000 m3 is transshipped for the first time between two LNG carriers, the Édouard L.D. and the Jules Verne, at Fos-sur-Mer.

Following the end of its charter with Gaz de France in March 2008, the Édouard L.D. undergoes a long period of maintenance at the Keppel shipyard in Singapore. Later purchased by Dynagas, it continues its service life under a Liberian flag.

1979

The Matthew An American itinerary

Despite several service shutdowns and repairs, the Matthew continues to operate on routes across the Atlantic.

Built in 1979 in the United States by Newport News Shipbuilding, this LNG carrier changed its name on several occasions: El Paso Howard Boyd, Gamma (1983), Matthew (1998), Suez Matthew (2006) and back to Matthew in 2009. It is one of three LNG carriers using a Technigaz membrane built by El Paso LNG Company. At the time, the United States was encouraging shipyards to build LNG carriers to ensure its supply of LNG from Algeria.

However, the country significantly cut its natural gas imports in 1980 and several ships were placed on standby or disassembled. The Matthew remained on standby for 16 years before returning to service.

The current owner of the ship is GDF SUEZ Energy North America (United States), part of GDF SUEZ.

In 2012, the Matthew was renovated by means of a new technology using infrared cameras to inspect storage tank insulation, called TAMI. Developed by GTT, the technology is used to detect and repair flaws in storage tank insulation.

2003

The BW GDF SUEZ Boston Charting new routes

Egypt, Chile, Dubai: the BW GDF SUEZ Boston delivers LNG to every corner of the globe.

Built in 2003, the BW GDF SUEZ Boston operates under a Norwegian flag.

Measuring 277 m in length, the LNG carrier has a 138,000-m3 capacity.

2010: The ship opens a new route in the Pacific by passing through the Strait of Magellan to deliver LNG produced at Idku in Egypt to Chile. Approximately 90,000 m3 of LNG are offloaded into the storage tanks of the BW GDF SUEZ Brussels, an LNG carrier chartered by GNL Mejillones (Chile), a joint-stock company owned by GDF SUEZ and CODELCO.

2013: The BW GDF SUEZ Boston becomes the first ship to deliver LNG to the Jebel Ali terminal near Dubai.

2006

THE GDF SUEZ Global EnergY A new generation at sea

A highly innovative ship, the GDF SUEZ Global EnergY paves the way for the LNG carriers of the 21st century.

In 2002, the Chantiers de l’Atlantique à Saint-Nazaire shipyard begins construction of a new LNG carrier: the Gaz de France EnergY.

Commissioned in 2006, the 74 000 m3 ship features a major innovation: a hybrid propulsion system running on natural gas. More efficient and cost-effective, diesel electric engines are used in place of steam engines on this ship. This innovation is particularly noteworthy as the majority of LNG carriers built after this date now use this propulsion system.

The ship is now known as the GDF SUEZ Global EnergY.

2006

THE PROVALYS An LNG carrier powered by natural gas

Representative of the new generation of LNG carriers, the Provalys brilliantly combines power and environmental performance.

With a capacity of 153,500 m3 of LNG, the Provalys was the world’s largest LNG carrier when it joined the GDF SUEZ fleet in 2006. It connects the Idku liquefaction plant in Egypt with the Fos Cavaou plant in France.

Like the Gaz de France EnergY, the Provalys is equipped with a hybrid propulsion system (diesel-electric) running on natural gas.

2009

THE GDF SUEZ NEPTUNE The first LNG regasification vessel

Equipped with cutting-edge technology, the GDF SUEZ Neptune offers the ability to regasify liquefied natural gas (LNG), a major advantage for GDF SUEZ.

2009: GDF SUEZ commissions the GDF SUEZ Neptune, its first LNG regasification vessel. Using a system of vaporizers, the ship can regasify liquefied natural gas (LNG) and discharge it under high pressure directly into the network via offshore facilities. It notably serves the Neptune Deepwater Port terminal located off the coast of Massachusetts in the United States, which is owned by GDF SUEZ and was commissioned in early 2010. It will soon serve the GNL del Plata floating terminal in Uruguay until the delivery of a new regasification vessel.

“The addition of the GDF SUEZ Neptune LNG carrier strengthens the Group’s fleet and its ability to transport LNG around the world, including markets not currently equipped with onshore regasification terminals.”

Jean-Marie Dauger, Executive Vice-President of GDF SUEZ

Featuring storage tanks equipped with GTT MKIII-reinforced membranes, the ship can transport up to 145,000 m3 of LNG. It has three high-performance regasification units capable of producing 21 million m3 of liquefied natural gas per day. It can also serve as a conventional LNG carrier.

The GDF SUEZ Neptune features a diesel-electric fuel propulsion system, which offers greater efficiency and reduced greenhouse gas emissions. The technology recovers natural evaporation from its LNG cargo for use as fuel.

May 2010: GDF SUEZ receives an identical LNG regasification vessel, the GDF SUEZ Cape Ann, used in Tianjin (China) to regasify LNG intended for markets in China.

1961

Le Beauvais Galop d’essai pour le transport

Le Beauvais fait figure de pionnier du transport du gaz naturel liquéfié. Il ouvre la voie en France à la filière du GNL.

En juillet 1959, Gaz de France acquiert son premier navire expérimental, le Beauvais, par l’intermédiaire de sa compagnie nationale du gaz, Gaz de France. Une seconde vie pour cet ancien libertyship américain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En 1961, il est désarmé à Dunkerque avant d’être remis en état et transformé à Saint-Nazaire (Chantiers de l’Atlantique). Il est prêt à remplir ses nouvelles fonctions en 1962, exploité par la Compagnie Nantaise des Chargeurs de l’Ouest pour le compte de Méthane Transport.

Le 15 mai 1962, le navire expérimental prend la mer, avec ses cuves chargées de GNL. Objectif : confronter les théories de laboratoire à la réalité et comparer les solutions mises en œuvre à bord. Les réservoirs, leurs calorifuges, leurs ancrages ainsi que tous les accessoires (pompes, tuyauteries, vannes, dispositifs de sécurité) sont minutieusement observés. Le 2 juillet, après avoir remonté la Loire, le Beauvais décharge sa cargaison à la station d'essais de Roche-Maurice de Nantes à laquelle il est relié par des bras articulés.

Grâce au Beauvais, les chantiers navals ont pu expérimenter grandeur nature les équipements qu’ils avaient étudiés et conçus, avant de lancer la construction du premier méthanier français.

1964

Le Jules Verne celui par qui tout a commencé

On célèbre aujourd’hui les 50 ans de la première livraison de GNL depuis Arzew !

Le 27 juin 1962, la société Gaz Marine passe commande du premier méthanier français, le futur Jules Verne, aux Ateliers et Chantiers de la Seine-Maritime situés au Trait.

28 mars 1965 : le Jules Verne assure sa première livraison de GNL au terminal du Havre ! Cette date marque le début de l’histoire industrielle française du GNL. Le méthanier Jules Verne commence une série de rotations intercontinentales de 3 400 km chacune. Il est en mesure d’effectuer 33 voyages par an entre l’Algérie et le Havre et sa capacité est de 25 840 m3, soit environ 10 piscines olympiques.

Après des échouements de méthaniers en 1979 et 1980, Gaz de France décide de mettre au point une technique de transbordement entre navires. Elle doit permettre d’optimiser la fluidité du trafic, la sécurité des flux et l’utilisation de la flotte de méthaniers. Entre le 11 et le 14 septembre 1982, 22 000 m3 de GNL sont transbordés pour la première fois entre 2 méthaniers : l’Édouard L.D. et le Jules Verne, à Fos-sur-Mer.

Cessant ses rotations en 1988, le Jules Verne est vendu à la compagnie néerlandaise Dalmeyer. Il sera ensuite exploité à nouveau en Méditerranée par la société espagnole Gas Natural et ferraillé en 2008, soit 43 ans de bons et loyaux services.

Télécharger la brochure d'époque (PDF, 2.5 Mo)

1971

Le Descartes 50 000 m3 de GNL à bord

Alors que le transport maritime de GNL prend son essor, le Descartes lui permet par sa grande capacité de passer à la vitesse supérieure.

En 1971 sont mis en service les méthaniers Descartes et Hassi R’Mel.

Ces deux navires sont caractérisés par une augmentation significative des capacités de transport : respectivement 50 000 m3 et 40 000 m3. Le monde compte alors 9 grands méthaniers, d’une capacité totale de 380 000 m3, et 2 petits, d’une capacité totale de 9 120 m3.

Le Descartes est le premier méthanier chargé à franchir le canal de Suez en 1977.

Messigaz, filiale de Gaz de France (40 %) et de la Compagnie Générale Maritime (60 %), fait l’acquisition du Descartes en 1991 en copropriété avec Gazocéan. Le navire sera affrété pendant 10 ans par Gaz de France.

1977

L’ÉDOUARD L.D. Entre Bretagne et Algérie

L’Édouard L.D. a été l’un des piliers des flux de GNL naissants entre la France et l’Algérie, avant de participer à la première expérience réussie de transbordement.

Achevé en 1977, le méthanier Édouard L.D. affiche une capacité de 125 000 m3, un changement d'échelle important en termes de capacités. Gaz de France se substitue à la Sagape (Société d’Achat du Gaz Algérien Pour l’Europe) pour l’affrètement de ce navire, propriété de la société d’armement Louis Dreyfus. Il est construit aux Chantiers de France-Dunkerque avec la technique Gaz Transport des cuves à membrane Invar. Créé pour effectuer des trajets entre Arzew et le futur terminal méthanier de Montoir - de - Bretagne, le navire restera néanmoins au repos forcé jusqu’à la mise en service de ce terminal en 1980.

Suite à des échouements de méthaniers en 1979 et 1980, Gaz de France décide de mettre au point une technique de transbordement entre navires. Elle doit permettre d’optimiser la fluidité du trafic, la sécurité des flux et l’utilisation de la flotte de navires méthaniers. Entre le 11 et le 14 septembre 1982, 22 000 m3 de GNL sont transbordés pour la première fois entre 2 méthaniers : l’Édouard L.D. et le Jules Verne, à Fos-sur-Mer.

Après la fin de sa charte d'affrètement avec Gaz de France, en mars 2008, l’Édouard L.D. subit un important arrêt technique au chantier singapourien Keppel. Repris par Dynagas, il poursuit sa carrière sous pavillon libérien.

1979

LE MATTHEW Itinéraire d’un Américain

C’est l’histoire du fabuleux destin du Matthew, qui, malgré repos forcé et réparations, navigue toujours outre-Atlantique.

Construit en 1979 aux États-Unis, par le chantier Newport News Shipbuilding, ce méthanier a porté différents noms : El Paso Howard Boyd, Gamma (1983), Matthew (1998), Suez Matthew (2006) et Matthew de nouveau depuis 2009. Il fait partie d'une série de 3 méthaniers à membrane Technigaz construits pour El Paso LNG Company.

Les États-Unis encourageaient les chantiers à construire de tels navires pour assurer leur alimentation en GNL depuis l'Algérie.

Mais, en 1980, l'importation de gaz a été fortement réduite et plusieurs navires ont été désarmés ou envoyés à la casse.

Le Matthew a été désarmé pendant 16 ans, avant de reprendre du service. Actuellement, le propriétaire du navire est GDF SUEZ Energy North America (États-Unis).

En 2012, le Matthew est remis en état, grâce à une nouvelle technique d’investigation de l’isolation des cuves par caméra infrarouge, TAMI. Cette technologie développée par la filiale spécialisée GTT (Gaztransport & Technigaz) permet de repérer les défauts d’isolation des cuves afin de procéder aux réparations.

2003

LE BW GDF SUEZ BOSTON Instigateur de nouvelles routes

Égypte, Chili, Dubaï : le BW GDF SUEZ Boston livre son GNL aux 4 coins du monde.

Construit en 2003, le BW GDF SUEZ Boston navigue sous pavillon norvégien. D’une capacité de 138 000 m3, le méthanier fait 277 m de long.

En 2010, il ouvre une nouvelle route du GNL dans le Pacifique en livrant sa cargaison, en provenance d’Idku en Égypte, au Chili en passant par le détroit de Magellan. 90 000 m3 de GNL sont déchargés dans les cuves du BW GDF SUEZ Brussels, méthanier affrété par GNL Mejillones (Chili), co-entreprise à parts égales entre GDF SUEZ et CODELCO.

Enfin, en 2013, le BW GDF SUEZ Boston est le premier navire à livrer une cargaison de GNL au terminal Jebel Ali, près de Dubaï.

2006

LE GDF SUEZ Global EnergY Une nouvelle génération à flot

Navire résolument innovant, le GDF SUEZ Global EnergY ouvre la voie aux méthaniers du XXIe siècle.

En 2002, les Chantiers de l’Atlantique à Saint-Nazaire commencent la construction d’un nouveau méthanier : le Gaz de France EnergY.

Mis en service en 2006, ce navire de 74 000 m3 présente une innovation majeure : un système de propulsion hybride fonctionnant au gaz naturel. Des moteurs diesels-électriques, aux meilleurs rendements et à l’exploitation plus économique, remplacent les moteurs cycles à vapeur. Cette innovation fera date car la majorité des méthaniers construits depuis cette période sont équipés de ce mode de propulsion. Les techniques appliquées seront du reste reprises dans les méthaniers grand format Provalys et Gaselys.

Le méthanier s’appelle aujourd’hui le GDF SUEZ Global Energy.

2006

LE PROVALYS Le méthanier qui transporte et s’alimente au gaz naturel

Emblématique de la nouvelle génération de méthaniers, le Provalys allie puissance et performance environnementale.

D'une capacité de 153 500 m3 de GNL, le Provalys est l’un des navires de la flotte GDF SUEZ et le plus grand méthanier au monde lors de sa mise en service en 2006. Il relie l’usine de liquéfaction d’Idku en Égypte au terminal de Fos Cavaou, en France.

Comme le Gaz de France EnergY, le Provalys est doté d'un système de propulsion hybride (diesel-électrique) fonctionnant au gaz naturel. Il est équipé de membranes de type CS1.

2009

LE GDF SUEZ NEPTUNE Premier méthanier regazéifieur

À la pointe de la technologie, le GDF SUEZ Neptune permet de regazéifier du gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL). Un atout de taille pour GDF SUEZ.

En 2009, GDF SUEZ met en service le GDF SUEZ Neptune, son premier méthanier regazéifieur. Grâce à des vaporisateurs, le navire peut regazéifier le gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) et l’envoyer sous haute pression directement sur le réseau, grâce à des installations offshore. Il est notamment utilisé sur le terminal Neptune Deepwater Port, détenu par GDF SUEZ au large des côtes du Massachusetts, aux États-Unis, mis en service début 2010, et le sera dans l’avenir sur le terminal flottant de GNL del Plata, en Uruguay, avant la livraison d’un autre navire regazéifieur.

« Le méthanier GDF SUEZ Neptune renforce la flotte du Groupe et sa capacité à transporter du GNL à travers le monde, y compris sur des marchés qui ne disposent pas de terminaux de regazéification onshore. »

Jean-Marie Dauger, Directeur Général Adjoint de GDF SUEZ

Équipé du système de cuves à membranes GTT MKIII renforcé, le navire peut transporter jusqu’à 145 000 m3 de GNL. Il comporte trois modules de regazéification à haute performance permettant d’émettre environ 21 millions de m3 standard de gaz naturel par jour. Il peut également être utilisé comme un méthanier conventionnel.

Le GDF SUEZ Neptune est également doté d’un système de propulsion fuel-diesel-électrique, qui améliore le rendement global et limite les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Cette technologie utilise l’évaporation naturelle de la cargaison de gaz comme combustible.

En mai 2010, GDF SUEZ a reçu un second méthanier regazéifieur identique, le GDF SUEZ Cape Ann, utilisé depuis à Tianjin (Chine) pour regazéifier du GNL à destination de la Chine.