LNG storage tanksThe power of French technology

For more than 50 years, the GDF SUEZ Group through its subsidiary GTT has developed the most advanced storage tanks for LNG carriers.

The first attempts to transport LNG in France date back to 1958, when four shipyards conducted research into LNG storage tanks. Two years later, Gaz de France and the research company Méthane Transport contracted these shipyards to develop storage tanks for the experimental ship Le Beauvais, which was inaugurated in 1962. Following the success of this trial, self-contained storage tanks (i.e. tanks that remain separate from the hull and sit on a double bottom) in 9% nickel steel were installed on the future Le Jules Verne ship.

Created in 1965, Gaz Transport signed an agreement with Gaz de France that same year to conduct research into integrated storage tanks, which are better suited than self-contained storage tanks to high-capacity LNG carriers. Featuring ultra-thin insulating walls, these integrated storage tanks fit perfectly into the ship hull and are supported by its structure.

Over the following decades, Gaz Transport and another French company Technigaz developed equipment for many of the world’s LNG carriers. The companies employed various techniques to minimize tank expansion caused by temperature changes. Since the tank is attached to the hull, its dimensions must remain stable. Technigaz developed a ribbing technique to improve the elasticity of the membrane. Gaz Transport opted for a flat metal membrane made from Invar, a 36% nickel steel with an extremely low coefficient of thermal expansion.

In 1994, the two companies merged to increase competitiveness on the international market. The new company Gaz Transport & Technigaz (GTT) quickly proved its merit by developing a new type of membrane in the early 2000s: CS1, a less-costly solution providing improved insulation.

Ninety percent of LNG carriers built around the world use GTT licenses. The French technology of integrated storage tanks has emerged as the international standard.

In 2012, GTT developed a technique to detect defects in storage tank insulation while preventing LNG leaks. The TAMI (Thermal Assessment of Membrane Integrity) method involves injecting nitrogen between the tank’s two insulation barriers. The LNG then cools the nitrogen before it is sent through a second insulation barrier in which it cools the double hull. The process is filmed with an infrared camera to capture cold areas that indicate places in which insulation defects may require repair. Owned by GDF SUEZ, the Matthew LNG carrier was repaired using this method and is now back in service.

Diesel-electric propulsionA major technological breakthrough

LNG carriers have consistently recovered evaporating LNG for use in their propulsion systems but new technological advances have helped develop a more efficient system.

During transport by ship, certain amounts of LNG evaporate naturally. Although this gas is typically recovered and used in the ship’s propulsion system, it does not provide enough energy to power the ship on its own. As a result, an additional energy source is required.

To supply this extra power, several alternative solutions using diesel engines were designed and developed throughout the 1990s.

However, some diesel engines consume heavy fuel oil, which weighs down the ship and reduces the amount of LNG it can carry. Other systems use combined gas and electric turbine engines that involve costly equipment (vacuum condenser), thereby requiring major renovations to the ship.

Of all the alternative solutions available, the diesel-electric motor is the most promising. It helps reduce energy consumption by 30% and emissions by 50%. It can also be adapted to work with any LNG carrier’s speed profile.

Throughout the 2000s, diesel-electric motors started to appear on ships. Gaz de France became the world’s first company to adopt this technology with the ships it commissioned from the Chantiers de l’Atlantique shipyard in 2002. The GDF SUEZ Global Energy carrier featured this type of motor in addition to the latest upgrades made by GTT to its storage tank insulation system, which helped limit evaporation.

Since then, the diesel-electric motor has emerged as the standard propulsion system for all new LNG carriers.

CRIGENOver 50 years of pioneering LNG research

In 1960, five years before the first commercial LNG cargo was delivered to France, the Nantes Roche-Maurice Cryogenic Testing Station, one of the entities that would later form CRIGEN, was created. The station lead trials on every aspect of the LNG process, including its technology and safety. Since then, CRIGEN experts have continued to innovate to support the development of the Group’s LNG value chain.

For over 50 years, numerous studies and trials have focused on LNG.

In 1960, Gaz de France created a cryogenic testing station in Roche-Maurice, near Nantes. Its mission was to demonstrate the feasibility of the LNG value chain. The station included a 500-m3 storage tank (in service until 2002), as well as a liquefaction unit and a regasification unit. In short, a small-scale reproduction of every link in the LNG value chain.

On July 2, 1962, the station received the experimental LNG carrier Le Beauvais, to demonstrate loading and offloading operations, test the different types of storage tanks and study LNG behavior at sea.

To carry out its research and development work, the Nantes Roche-Maurice Cryogenic Testing Station featured all of the following:

  • Two-LNG storage tank facility, with respective capacities of 500 m3 and 250 m3, and a high-pressure regasification unit
  • 120,000 m2 testing ground
  • Workshop for developing trial systems
  • Significant metrology and industrial IT resources
  • Digital modeling tools

Since the 1960s, the station has worked with these resources on challenges connected to various industrial processes including liquefaction, transport and regasification. Its research helped to develop technical materials, to improve safety by studying LNG behavior and to train Gaz de France employees. Gaz de France and Gaz Transport also tested their technique of using integrated storage tanks at Roche-Maurice in 1967.

When the station closed in 2002, it had hosted over a thousand studies and trials, many of which GDF SUEZ conducted in collaboration with international partners

The station generated an immense database, which notably enabled researchers to develop software to improve safety and model LNG behavior during storage or maritime transport (such as EVOLCODE, LNG Master, CARGO, Roll-Over Predictor, LNG Bunkering software, etc.).

Highlights of the Nantes Roche-Maurice Cryogenic Testing Station’s work include:

  • Developing and patenting a liquefaction process known as the Integral Incorporated Cascade (CII) process
  • Helping to develop techniques for building LNG carrier storage tanks with the company GTT
  • Developing various software for studying LNG behavior during transportation and storage (LNG Master, for example, which was validated through tests conducted in the station’s 500-m3 storage tank and through operational observations)
  • Performing qualification tests on materials and processes, by replicating the actual conditions of LNG use and meeting all current standards
  • Working through industrial partnerships to develop LNG supply industries (LNG fuel)
  • Participating in international standards groups and providing technical and training consulting
  • Working with manufacturers to develop innovative systems, notably designed to inspect the inside of storage tanks in service, collect LNG samples and continuously monitor the characteristics of stored LNG
  • Collaborating with other research laboratories to develop and validate safety calculations for engineers and operators
  • Performing large-scale safety trials, notably designed to model:
    • Rapid phase transitions that occur when LNG is discharged into water
    • Spread, vaporization and dispersal of LNG vapor
    • Extent of LNG pool fires

Today, CRIGEN’s LNG researchers are based in Saint-Denis (France) and continue to improve the operational performance of the LNG value chain and to meet new technology challenges related to the GDF SUEZ Group’s development priorities. CRIGEN supports the Group by applying its knowledge of LNG and its thermodynamic properties to develop technologies for LNG fuel and transported LNG. More than ever, research and technology represent a strategic priority in the development of the LNG value chain.

LNG softwareImproving the safety of LNG storage and transport

CRIGEN (Research Center for Natural Gas and New Energies) is one of the Group’s research and technology laboratories dedicated to natural gas activities and new energies. There, researchers develop software and tools for modeling LNG behavior during storage and maritime transport in order to optimize industrial safety at every step in the value chain.

Through computerized tests, models and numerous trials performed at the Nantes Cryogenic Testing Station and at other testing sites, CRIGEN researchers working on LNG have developed software for modeling LNG behavior during storage and maritime transport. These models help optimize facility size and improve the operational and safety management of facilities.

This software notably includes LNG MASTER, which is used to predict the behavior of LNG within storage tanks. This tool improves the operational and safety management of storage tanks at various LNG storage sites (reception terminals, liquefaction plants, peak shaving, etc.). Validated through trials performed on a 500-m3 pilot storage tank in Nantes and through operational data collected at the Montoir-de-Bretagne and Fos-sur-Mer LNG terminals, the latest version of LNG MASTER predicts the following phenomena: LNG aging, mixing, stratification, roll-over, etc.

The CARGO software is used to measure LNG aging during transport by ship, to transmit data on the physical properties and composition of LNG cargo to the destination port, as well as to deliver expertise on LNG behavior and provide advice on complying with quality specifications  during the offloading process.

LNG Bunkering Software assists LNG operators in planning and coordinating bunkering operations between LNG bunkering ships and LNG-powered ships. In particular, the software can model the following operations: loading LNG bunkering ships at the terminal, transporting bunkering ships to LNG-powered ships, bunkering LNG-powered ships.

CRIGEN also provides training and support for all of this software.

Les cuves de stockage de GNLLa force de la technologie française

Depuis plus de 50 ans, le groupe GDF SUEZ, par sa filiale GTT, se place à la pointe de la conception des cuves de navires méthaniers.

Les premiers travaux sur le transport de GNL en France remontent à 1958 lorsque quatre chantiers navals se lancent dans l’étude des cuves de méthaniers. Deux ans plus tard, ces chantiers sont chargés par Gaz de France et la société d’étude Méthane Transport de créer des cuves pour le Beauvais, navire expérimental mis à flot en 1962. Suite au succès de l’expérimentation, des cuves auto-porteuses (c’est-à-dire séparées de la coque et posées sur un double fond), à 9 % de nickel, viennent équiper le futur Jules Verne.

Créée en 1965, la société Gaz Transport signe la même année un accord avec Gaz de France pour développer des recherches dans le domaine des cuves intégrées, plus adaptées aux méthaniers de grande capacité que les cuves auto-porteuses.

Avec leurs parois d’isolation très minces, ces cuves intégrées s’insèrent parfaitement dans la coque des navires qui leur sert de structure résistante.

Pendant les décennies suivantes, Gaz Transport et une autre société française, Technigaz, vont équiper une grande partie des méthaniers dans le monde. Elles emploient des méthodes différentes pour réduire au minimum la dilatation de la cuve liée aux différentiels de température – la cuve étant fixée à la coque, ses dimensions ne doivent absolument pas varier. Technigaz utilise une technique de gaufrage pour jouer sur l’élasticité de la membrane. Gaz Transport choisit une membrane de métal totalement plane fabriquée à partir d’Invar, un acier composé à 36 % de nickel dont le coefficient de contraction est très faible.

En 1994, les deux sociétés fusionnent pour devenir plus compétitives à l’international. La nouvelle société créée, Gaztransport & Technigaz (GTT), fait ses preuves rapidement en développant au début des années 2000 un nouveau type de membrane, la CS1, moins coûteuse et plus efficace en termes d’isolation.

90 % des méthaniers en construction dans le monde utilisent des licences GTT. La technologie française des cuves intégrées est devenue le standard international. Aujourd'hui, GDF SUEZ détient 40 % de la société.

En 2012, GTT a mis au point une technique pour repérer les défauts d’isolation des cuves afin d’éviter les fuites de GNL. La méthode TAMI (Thermal Assessment of Membrane Integrity) consiste à introduire de l’azote entre les deux barrières d’isolation de la cuve. L’azote refroidit à proximité du GNL, passe à travers la deuxième barrière d’isolation et refroidit localement la double coque. Celle-ci est filmée avec une caméra infrarouge qui met en évidence les points froids révélant un défaut d’isolation qui nécessite des réparations. Le méthanier Matthew, appartenant à GDF SUEZ, a été remis à flot grâce à cette méthode.

La propulsion diesel électriqueUne rupture technologique majeure

Si les méthaniers ont toujours récupéré l’évaporation de GNL pour leur propulsion, des technologies récentes ont permis de mettre au point un système plus performant.

Lors de son transport par bateau, une partie du gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) s’évapore naturellement. S’il est généralement récupéré et utilisé pour la propulsion du navire, il reste à lui seul insuffisant. Un complément d’énergie est nécessaire.

C’est pourquoi, au cours des années 1990, plusieurs solutions alternatives ayant recours à des moteurs diesel ont été imaginées.

Celles qui privilégient le fioul lourd ont l’inconvénient d’alourdir le navire et de diminuer sa capacité en cargaison de GNL. D’autres s’appuient sur des turbines à gaz fonctionnant selon le mode Goges (Co-gaz electric stream). Mais, ce dispositif est coûteux car il implique l’intégration d’équipements supplémentaires (condenseur sous vide) nécessitant des aménagements importants.

De toutes les alternatives proposées, le moteur diesel électrique semble le plus prometteur. Il permet de réduire la consommation d’énergie de 30 % et la pollution de 50 %. Il peut s’adapter aux profils de vitesse de tous les méthaniers.

Au cours des années 2000, le moteur diesel électrique fait son apparition sur les bateaux. Gaz de France sera la première entreprise dans le monde à adopter cette technologie sur les navires commandés aux Chantiers de l’Atlantique en 2002. Le GDF SUEZ Global Energy est équipé de ce type de moteur ainsi que des derniers perfectionnements apportés par GTT sur les systèmes d’isolation des cuves, réduisant l’évaporation naturelle.

Depuis, le moteur diesel électrique s’est imposé comme le mode de propulsion de tous les méthaniers en construction.

Le CRIGENPlus de 50 ans de recherches pionnières sur le GNL

Bien avant la première livraison commerciale de GNL en France en 1965, la Station d'Essais Cryogéniques de Nantes Roche-Maurice, une entité de ce qui est devenu aujourd’hui le CRIGEN, a été créée en 1960 et a réalisé les études, les essais et les développements dans tous les domaines des procédés, de la technologie et de la sécurité impliquant le GNL.

Depuis plus de 50 ans, le GNL fait l’objet d’études et d’essais.

En 1960, Gaz de France crée une station expérimentale d’Essais Cryogéniques à Roche-Maurice, près de Nantes. Sa mission : démontrer la faisabilité d’une chaîne GNL. On y construit un réservoir de 500 m3 (en service jusqu’en 2002 !), et on y installe une unité de liquéfaction ainsi qu’une unité de regazéification. Bref, on reproduit à échelle réduite les maillons de la chaîne GNL.

Le 2 juillet 1962, la station accueille le navire expérimental le Beauvais, afin de démontrer les opérations de chargement et déchargement et de tester ses différents types de cuves, ainsi que le comportement en mer. 

La Station d'Essais Cryogéniques de Nantes Roche-Maurice disposait pour effectuer ses travaux en matière de Recherche et Développement :

  • d'une installation comprenant deux réservoirs de GNL de 500 et 250 m3 et une unité de regazéification sous haute pression du gaz naturel,
  • d'un terrain d'essais de 120 000 m2,
  • d’un atelier de réalisation des bancs d’essais,
  • d’importants moyens en métrologie et en informatique industrielle,
  • de moyens de simulation numérique.

Ainsi dès les années 1960, la station traite les problèmes liés aux procédés industriels : liquéfaction, transport, regazéification… Ses recherches portent notamment sur la mise au point des matériels techniques, les essais sur le comportement du GNL et sur la sécurité, l’aide à la formation des agents Gaz de France. C’est à Roche-Maurice que Gaz de France et Gaz Transport expérimenteront la technique des cuves intégrées en 1967.

Lorsque la station ferme, en 2002, plus d’un millier d’études et essais avaient été effectués, dont un grand nombre avec des partenaires étrangers.

Une base de données inestimable, qui a notamment permis aux chercheurs de mettre au point des logiciels de sécurité ou de simulation du comportement du GNL pendant le stockage ou le transport en mer (comme EVOLCODE, LNG Master, CARGO, Roll-Over Predictor, LNG Bunkering software, etc.).

Les principales réalisations de la Station d'Essais Cryogéniques de Nantes Roche-Maurice :

  • la mise au point (avec dépôt de brevet) d’un procédé de liquéfaction, dit Cascade Incorporée Intégrale (CII),
  • la participation au développement de techniques de construction de cuve de navire méthanier avec la société GTT,
  • la mise au point de divers logiciels liés à l’étude du comportement du GNL transporté puis stocké (LNG Master par exemple, qui a été validé à l’aide d’expérimentations dans le réservoir de 500 m3 de la Station et d’observations faites en exploitation),
  • la réalisation de tests de qualification de matériel et de procédés, reproduisant les conditions réelles d’utilisation en GNL et satisfaisant aux normes en vigueur,
  • la participation, dans le cadre de partenariats industriels, au développement de filières d’approvisionnement en GNL (GNL carburant),
  • la participation à des groupes internationaux de normalisation et la réalisation de missions de conseil technique et de formation,
  • la mise au point, en association avec des constructeurs, d’appareils innovants, destinés par exemple à observer l’intérieur des réservoirs en service, à prélever des échantillons de GNL, ou à contrôler en continu les caractéristiques du GNL stocké,
  • le développement et la validation, en collaboration avec d’autres laboratoires de recherche, de modèles de calcul dans le domaine de la sécurité et destinés aux ingénieries et aux exploitants,
  • la réalisation d’essais à grande échelle dans le domaine de la sécurité et destinés à simuler notamment : les transitions rapides de phase lorsque du GNL est déversé sur de l’eau ; l’épandage, la vaporisation et la dispersion des vapeurs de GNL ; le rayonnement des feux de vapeurs de nappes de GNL.

Aujourd’hui, les chercheurs en GNL du CRIGEN, installés à Saint-Denis (France), continuent d’améliorer les performances opérationnelles de la chaîne GNL et de répondre aux nouveaux enjeux technologiques liés aux axes de développement de GDF SUEZ. Le CRIGEN accompagne ainsi le groupe en appliquant sa connaissance du produit GNL et de ses propriétés thermodynamiques pour le développement technologique du GNL carburant et du GNL porté. Plus que jamais, la recherche et technologiques représentent donc un axe stratégique de développement de la chaîne GNL.

Des logicielsPour sécuriser tous les maillons de la chaîne GNL

C’est au CRIGEN (cf. supra), l’un des laboratoires de recherche et technologies du Groupe dédié aux métiers du gaz et aux énergies nouvelles, que les chercheurs mettent au point des logiciels pour simuler le comportement du GNL pendant le stockage ou le transport en mer, afin d’optimiser la sécurité industrielle.

Grâce aux nombreux essais effectués à la Station d’Essais Cryogéniques de Nantes puis sur différents terrains d’essais, grâce à des tests et des modélisations informatiques, le Groupe a réussi à mettre au point des logiciels permettant de simuler le comportement du GNL pendant le stockage ou le transport en mer. Cette simulation permet de mieux dimensionner les installations, mais aussi de mieux piloter l’exploitation et la sécurité des sites.

Parmi ces logiciels, on peut citer LNG MASTER®, qui prédit le comportement du GNL dans les réservoirs de stockage. Il est un outil de sécurisation et d’optimisation pour toutes les opérations de gestion des réservoirs dans les différents sites de stockage de GNL (terminaux de réception, usines de liquéfaction, peakshaving…). La dernière version de LNG MASTER® a été validée sur la base d’essais réalisés dans un réservoir pilote à Nantes et sur des données opérationnelles à grande échelle effectuées dans les terminaux méthaniers de Montoir-de-Bretagne et Fos-sur-Mer : vieillissement, mélange et stratification des couches de GNL, incidents de roll-over, etc.

Le logiciel CARGO permet d’évaluer le vieillissement du GNL pendant son transport en bateau, de donner les propriétés physiques et la composition du GNL transporté au port de destination, mais aussi d’offrir une expertise sur le comportement du GNL et d’apporter des conseils sur le respect des spécifications de qualité lors du déchargement au terminal.

Le logiciel LNG Bunkering Software aide quant à lui les opérateurs de GNL dans la conception et le pilotage des opérations de soutage des navires ravitailleurs de GNL vers les navires alimentés en GNL. En particulier, le logiciel permet de simuler les opérations suivantes : chargement des navires-citernes de GNL au terminal, voyage des navires ravitailleurs jusqu’aux navires alimentés, chargement des navires alimentés.

Pour tous ces logiciels, le CRIGEN délivre des formations ainsi qu’un service après-vente.